The Law came in so that the transgression would increase; but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more . . . Romans 5:20

Then Peter came and said to Him, “Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven. Matthew 18:21-22

If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

These portions of Holy Scripture are so precious to me. Only because I know how rotten I am to the core. Without these truths, I do not know if I could have lived with myself since God allowed me to have a good hard look into my heart as it really is. With my overly strict conscience, it is not beyond imagination that suicide would have been an easy way out.

I do not know what state of spiritual health you are in at the moment. You may have strayed away from the Lord so far and for so long that you feel like He is no longer looking for you. You may be suffering from some sort of addiction – sex or drugs, including alcohol – that you feel like there is no use fighting; that giving up and simply giving in are reasonable options.

This is my advise to you: If you feel like you can no longer stand yourself, for what has become of you, meditate on the passages above. Give these truths some time to germinate in your mind. You will realize as I have that life is really not about us. Life is Jesus Christ. You have to see yourself in Him just as the Father sees you and me.

God’s grace is boundless and His forgiveness knows no limit. So anytime you succumb to the sin that easily entangles you, simply go to our loving Father in heaven, confess your sin and resolve to do better.